mia loves henry miller – Letter 20 – Quick Letter: Getting Ready for Naughty New Year’s Eve Burlesque Show

mia loves henry miller

Letter 20 – Quick Letter: Getting Ready for Naughty New Year’s Eve Burlesque Show

“Life is 440 horsepower in a 2-cylinder engine.” —Henry Miller

12/30/2011 9:48 p.m.

Dear Henry Miller,

I’m sorry this is such a quick letter.   I have been so busy with getting ready for my burlesque show for tomorrow night.   Last year, we had over 500 people attending our Dr. Farrago’s Burlesque Theater Naughty New Year’s Eve Show at TS Bar and Grill in the Minneapolis, suburbs.   This is our second year doing a NYE show at this venue.  We have a large assortment of entertainment this year – burlesque, boylesque, magic, tap dancing, belly dancing, singing, music, variety acts and so much more!  The talent I have booked is amazing!  I have been dealing with the organization of this show, rehearsing my own burlesque and magic numbers, and doing other miscellaneous show stuff all week – business related emails, phone calls, meetings, and all of the necessary obligations which go with producing a high quality burlesque show with an extremely large cast.

To see a promo video, please click on the link in my Blogroll’s list of links on the right of my page – Naughty New Year’s Eve Promo

This morning, I decided to drop one of my numbers due to how complex the performance piece is.  It’s also a lengthy number, over 8 minutes.  The prep time it takes to prepare the stage with my props, and the clean up time it takes to take down my props after I’m finished, pushes this number over 10 minutes in length.  I’m deciding to do a simpler, shorter number – my sheer scarf striptease. I’ve been doing this number for a long time.  It’s another one of my favorite numbers to perform…


It’s too difficult to run a huge show and concentrate on such a difficult number – I initially planned to perform my Geisha number.  I had been rehearsing flipping oriental fans and parasols most of the week for over 8 hours a day.  I feel relieved!  My stress about the show has lessened greatly.

If I don’t get a chance to write sooner – I want to wish you a Happy New Year Henry!   It’s too bad that I can’t kiss you and Anais at midnight!   

“Good things happen to those who hustle.” —Anais Nin

I’m very tired.  I have had a very long day rehearsing, returning many business emails and phone calls, and doing girly pampering stuff, pedicure, manicure, waxing, and a massage. Mr. C gave me a 60 minute gift certificate for the massage for Christmas!  Being a burlesque performer can be high maintenance.  However, I feel much more relaxed, after my massage. I was very stressed out this morning.  I am much calmer now.  I am also feeling very sleepy – must end this letter.   I promise to write as soon as I can.

Much Love,

Mia

“Plots and character don’t make life. Life is here and now, anytime you say the word, anytime you let her rip.” —Henry Miller

One response to “mia loves henry miller – Letter 20 – Quick Letter: Getting Ready for Naughty New Year’s Eve Burlesque Show

  1. Reblogged this on mia loves henry miller and commented:

    I am reblogging my first collection of Letters to Henry Miller, via blog, as I finish the last letter in this first collection of erotic letters written to Henry Miller. This review of stimulating letters will end with Letter 50. Once I finish editing my manuscript and prepare my book for publishing, this first collection of letters will be removed from my blog web site Mialoveshenrymiller.com and transcend into a book. Once this is complete I will begin writing, Mia Loves Henry Miller, Book 2, beginning with Letter 51 – Thank you for all of my readers support.

    Like

Leave a Reply

